MyDance Registration & Committee, 1997-1999


The WDA Malaysia Chapter is now an officially registered society of a Non Government Organization (NGO) under the auspices of the Ministry of Culture, Arts and Tourism Malaysia. The WDA Malaysia will henceforth be known as Persatuan Tari Malaysia (in Malay) or Malaysia Dance Association [MyDance] in English. MyDance will be the representative of WDA Malaysia with the aim of spreading information on dance, dance awareness programmes, dance research, dance workshops, and dance performances amongst local dance enthusiasts, dancers, choreographers, critics and researchers.


A new committee was elected and appointed for a two year term (1997–1999)

President: Dr. Mohd Anis Md Nor

Vice-President: Mr Suhaimi Magi

Secretary: Mr Joseph Gonzales

Vice Secretary: Mr. Abu Bakar Sulaiman

Treasurer: Miss Mew Chang Tsing

Ex-Officio: Mr Mohamed Juhari Shaarani

Committee Members:

Miss Vithyalakshmi Ramiah
Mr Lee Swee Keong
Mr S. Gunasegaran
Mr Djamal Bakir
Ms Judimar Monfils
Ms. Aida Zurina Redza
Mr Onn Jaafar
Mr. Sarkawi Hj. Amit
Mrs Lee Lee Lan
Mr Shankar Kandasamy.